Tags

, , , ,

It’s been quite the learning year for blogging! When I made this blog as my midterm project for my E-Pub class, I wasn’t sure what, if anything, I’d ever use it for. In 2011, I resolved to post at least once a week, using the blog as a reminder to myself to take writing seriously and make progress toward my personal writing goals. I didn’t expect anyone to read it, but while I am far from well-read on the ethersphere (blogonet? i have no idea what the universe where people read blogs is called), I have a few dozen followers, and got enough attention to land me a spot on the Canary Review as well!

What this means, of course, is that I clearly need to step things up here. Through careful research, I have determined that one of the things all the cool bloggers do is write for audiences–as in, act like there actually are people reading this thing that you have posted to the entire internet. Writing myself little pep talks isn’t going to cut it anymore.

So here’s what I propose: since literature and writing are the things that make me feel happy and inspired, and sometimes tangentially related or even seemingly unrelated creative things do, too, I want to make this blog-space that I have a virtual studio, dedicated to stories and inspiration, both in traditional and a bit more unconventional form. Posting goes like this:

Once a week: What I’m Reading, because I want to read 75 books in 2012 and I like talking about them (and, without getting too braggy, I’ve read a shelf or two in my lifetime and I think I can pick some good ones)

Another day in the week: Writing/inspiration. Something I’ve found or that’s occurred to me that is good for creativity, that I think you might think is cool, too.

As many Fridays as I can: Flash fiction. Because writing crappy short-short stories is a good way to shake out my brain, which I will need given how much editing I have to do in 2012 (see: NaNoWriMo).

I don’t want to put down specific days, because I am still doing the 2-jobs-and-grad-school thing and I don’t always know what good writing days my schedule will allow, but that’s the plan for next year. And if you are one of the couple dozen people who stop by sometimes, and you see something really cool, send it my way! Let’s make creative inspiration a community thing.

